Approximately 6 miles from St. Andrews, The Kingsbarns Distillery will be built within sight of the world-famous Kingsbarns championship golf course on land which will be leased from Sir Peter Erskine of the Cambo Estate. The site of the distillery is the historic and charming East Newhall Farm steading.
The Wemyss family is being supported in this exciting new development with a grant from the Scottish Government. It is expected that development of the existing listed building will begin in early 2013, with a view to beginning distilling and welcoming visitors later the following year.
It is well known that Wemyss family has links with the whisky industry going back to the turn of the 19th century when John Haig (founder of Haig’s) built his first distillery on Wemyss land, and since 2005, with the independent bottler Wemyss Malts. However, it is also the case that the Wemyss family has a historical link with the site of the new Kingsbarns Distillery as the 7th Earl of Wemyss actually owned part of the Cambo Estate between 1759 and 1783.
William Wemyss, commented on behalf of the family: “This rare opportunity to distil our own single malt whisky and develop a new Scotch whisky brand to support our existing business as an independent bottler will secure the family interest in Scotch for the next generation. We are delighted to be working with the Scottish Government, Sir Peter Erskine and Kingsbarns Distillery founder, Doug Clement, to bring a new distillery and visitor centre to the East Fife area.”